Cozy Cooking

So, I love to bake and cook. Reading these cozy mysteries have been both good and 11796458_10102216022250852_1994434917891043302_nbad for me, but I have to laugh. I have tried so many new foods and ways of making food since my adventure in reading these new authors. Honestly, do they not know what they are doing? I have completely covered my kitchen in chocolate (thanks Mary Kennedy), mint and flour to attempt to recreate the atmosphere needed to truly immerse myself in these mysteries and I turn the blame on them. Alas, I am a foodie. I always have been. I will take the blame as I eat another peppermint patty. Carry on with your writing.

Today I found myself in the kitchen with my two youngest children, ages two and four, making homemade artisan bread that a friend Karen Owen posted. My house 51bITxpXAZL._SX308_BO1,204,203,200_smells of yeast and baked goodness as the kids and dog are sound asleep and I have time to think upon these wondrous baked creations.  I am anticipating reviewing a book being sent to me from author, Karoline Barrett.  Bun For Your Life, is expected to be released this November.  The cover shows a bakery full of nummy looking breads and pastries.  It is the first of the Bread and Batter Mystery series.  Honestly, Karoline you are now on my naughty list for making me crave bread.  Oh wait, I said I took the blame at the beginning of the post didn’t I?  Never mind.

I often hear that people get too involved in their books, wrapped up in the characters and plot. I seem to find myself getting involved in what they are eating or cooking. That’s okay though, my family is reaping the benefit of all the homemade goodies in the house as well as my next door neighbor. The funny thing is, I am not a Martha Stewart or Duncan Hines so anyone reading these books can make these recipes. I am just a small town woman who loves to read and happens to know how to follow simple instructions. The end result is always tasty. Thanks goodness for these Cozy Mysteries.11866289_162602544072209_6828492374465785684_n

Books not only take us to other places outside of our reality, but also seem to seep into our reality too. And that’s okay. I’ll have a fresh basket of goodies waiting for my fictional friends. Well, time to take that bread out. I think I hear knocking on my bookshelf.  I think Calista and Molly just arrived.

One thought on “Cozy Cooking

Leave a Reply

