Interview with Summer Prescott and Day 4 of Booth Talks Books Giveaway!

Summer Prescott has joined us today to talk about her books, characters and herself!  If you haven’t read her books, you need to.  I have enjoyed her Key West series so much.  It has even prompted me to make way too many pies.

Murder By Lime

Murder By Lime

BTB: How long have you been writing cozy mysteries?
SP: My first cozy was released on February 5th of this year.

BTB: Where do you come up with the ideas for your books?
SP: I like to draw largely from life experiences. I really enjoy writing about places that I’ve been and basing characters around people whom I’ve encountered.

BTB: Okay, I have to ask…WHY Key Lime? Tell us all about this revelation to write around a Key Lime shop in the Keys.
SP: I think maybe it’s indicative of my intense longing for a vacation! Just kidding. 😉 I love the beach, and Key West has so much to offer in the way of imagery, activities and more. I really wanted the readers to be able to smell the salty air and hear the whispers of the swaying palms. Books are a great escape, and I wanted to make this series, in particular, a mini-getaway for the readers.

BTB: Have you thought about putting out recipes to go with you books?

A Lime To Kill

A Lime To Kill

SP: Actually there are plans in the works to put out a Summer Prescott cookbook that will have recipes from all three series – I’m so excited about that!

BTB: Who is your favorite character in your Key Lime series? I know who mine is, but I will talk of that later.
SP: As sappy as it sounds, I’m going to have to say Detective Cortland, because there’s so much more to him than meets the eye. He’s a really good guy with some depth to him…which will show more and more in book 7. And he’s handsome too…that doesn’t hurt. Creepy Tim is running a close second though.

BTB: Is Tim based on someone you know in real life? Will there be more of him? I am a HUGE fan of the super-creepy neighbor.
SP: Tim is actually based on the blending of a couple of people, one who actually is a mortician, and the other who is quite an oddball. He’s featured pretty prominently in book 7 as well.

BTB: Are there any other Lime books in the works?

SP: I’m currently writing book 7 right now, and there is a book 8 in the works as well. Beyond that…we’ll have to see. I’m considering doing spin-offs of all three series.

BTB: What are the different series you write?
SP: The Key West series, of course, the Rocky Cove series, which features a New England clambake caterer, and the Frosted Love series, which revolves around a cupcake shop owner in Louisiana.

BTB: Do you have a certain series that is your favorite or close to your heart? 51892mhgyzl__sx311_bo1204203200_
SP: They’re all special to me. The Rocky Cove series was inspired by my relatives, who all hail from the East Coast; the Frosted Love series literally takes place in a town in Louisiana in which I lived, but I changed the name, and the Key West series takes me to paradise – it doesn’t get any better than that.

BTB: Thank you Summer for helping Booth Talks Books celebrate reaching 100 subscribers!
SP: Thank you! It was my pleasure

——>Enter Booth Talks Books Giveaway!<—–

2 thoughts on “Interview with Summer Prescott and Day 4 of Booth Talks Books Giveaway!

  1. I’ve been reading for so long, I’ve forgotten when I first discovered my favorite pastime. I even had a teacher in junior high who brought me books to read, since my reading level was post high school then.

    Like

Leave a Reply

