Murder at Morningside by Sandra Bretting Spotlight and Book Giveaway

Murder at Morningside

Excerpt:

Time rewound with each footfall as I began to climb the grand outer staircase at Morningside Plantation. The limestone steps, burdened with the history of five generations, heaved their way toward heaven.

At the top lay a wide-plank verandah supported by columns painted pure white, like the clouds. By the time I took a third step, the digital camera in my right hand began to dissolve into the sterling silver handle of a ladies parasol. The visitors’ guide in my left hand magically transformed into a ballroom dance card bound by a satin cord.

Another step and the Mississippi River came into view as it flowed to the Gulf, languid as a waltz and the color of sweet tea. Could that be a whistle from a steamboat ferrying passengers past the plantation? If so, a turn and a wave wouldn’t be out of the question once I reached the top of the stairs, and good manners would dictate it.

I was about to do that when I realized the whistle was only my friend’s cell and not a Mississippi riverboat. “Ambrose! Turn that thing off. Honestly.”

“Sorry.” He shrugged. “I always forget you were Scarlett O’Hara in a past life.”

The mood was broken, though, and the sterling silver in my hand returned to plastic while the linen dance card hardened to a glossy brochure.

 

Buy “Murder at Morningside

original-cover-art

Published by Kensington Publishing Corp./Lyrical Underground

 

Giveaway

Would you like a chance to win “Murder At Morningside?” Then click below to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for a copy and visit Missy.  She needs some btb-givaway-badgeideas for new hats and you need entries to win this book!

(Physical book for those who are in the US, ebook for those outside of the US) Facebook does not sponsor nor endorse this giveaway folks!

 

Win by helping Missy DuBois

 

About The Author

pixelstudioproductions-com-2Sandra Bretting writes the Missy DuBois Mystery series for Kensington/Lyrical Underground. A graduate of the University of Missouri School of Journalism, she’s written for the Los Angeles Times and the Houston Chronicle, among others.

The Missy DuBois Mystery series follows milliner and bona fide Southern belle Missy DuBois, who becomes entangled in several unfashionable murders on the Great River Road in Louisiana. The first book, Murder at Morningside, debuted in May 2016. The second installment, Something Foul at Sweetwater, will be available December 2016. Readers can connect with her at www.sandrabretting.com.


Visit Sandra!

Website: www.sandrabretting.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SandraBrettingBooks

Visit Lyrical Press : http://www.lyricalpress.com/

 

7 thoughts on “Murder at Morningside by Sandra Bretting Spotlight and Book Giveaway

  1. Hello! I entered the contest by giving my email on the form but I’m not sure if I did it correctly… Maybe this is where I’m supposed to leave my hat recommendation… So here goes! I would ask for a hat with a candy theme. I’m sure it wouldn’t be tacky with candy wrappers, etc but more likely it would have perfectly placed sweets and treats. It would be so beautiful I would worry I might mess it up by wearing it! Thanks for the chance to get my hands on this great start to a new series! Thanks for sharing today Sandra!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

